Winter cycling

So winter is upon us with a vengeance in London. Last year, I rode my bike up until Christmas.  After that, the next time I got back on it was in March. During the heavy snow and extreme cold last year, conditions were too bad for me.

In London, when it’s wet, there seems to be this black speckly spray which is thrown up from the road, covering your trousers and it  reaches areas you wouldn’t have thought possible.  It doesn’t seem to come off in the washing machine either.

I can handle the cold but when it’s cold and wet, I tend to use the tube. As I now have a road bike, I’m also more concerned about the damage the rain and grit will do to the bike.  So, are you out in all weathers on the road? Or do you only cycle on the drier days?

Leave a Reply

